First ACM & IEEE International Conference on

Formal Methods and Models for Codesign (MEMOCODE'2003)

Programming models, formal analysis methods and verification techniques for high-level
system design and (re)engineering: towards convergence of formal methods and industrial trends.

June 24th.-26th., 2003 -- Mont Saint-Michel, France

General chair Rajesh Gupta (University of California at San Diego)

Program co-chairs
Sandeep K. Shukla (Virginia Tech)
Jean-Pierre Talpin (INRIA)

Program committee
Gul Agha (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
Jim Armstrong (Virginia Tech)
Arvind (Massachusets Institute of Technology)
Brian Bailey (Mentor Graphics)
Franšois Bodin (University of Rennes-IRISA)
Forest Brewer (University of California at Santa Barbara)
Stephen Edwards (Columbia University)
Hans Eveking (University of Darmstadt)
Harry Foster (Verplex Systems)
Masahiro Fujita (University of Tokyo)
Franco Fummi (University of Verona)
Vijay Kumar Garg (University of Texas at Austin)
Rajesh Gupta (University of California at San Diego)
Connie Heitmeyer (Naval Research Laboratory)
James Hoe (Carnegie Mellon University)
Alan Hu (University of British Columbia)
Marta Kwiatkowska (University of Birmingham)
Kim Larsen (Aalborg University)
Paul Le Guernic (INRIA-IRISA)
Stan Liao (Synopsys)
Grant Martin (Cadence)
Hillel Miller (Motorola)
Zebo Peng (Link÷ping University)
Carl Pixley (Synopsys)
Patrice Quinton (University of Rennes-IRISA)
Rob Slater (Motorola)
Sandeep Kumar Shukla (Virginia Tech)
Jean-Pierre Talpin (INRIA-IRISA)
Marten Van Hulst (Philips Research)
Miroslav Velev (Georgia Tech)
Wayne Wolf (Princeton University)

Steering committee
Masahiro Fujita (University of Tokyo)
Vijay Kumar Garg (University of Texas at Austin)
Paul Le Guernic (INRIA-IRISA)
Rajesh Gupta (University of California at Irvine)
Nancy Lynch (Massachussets Institute of Technology)

Call for papers. Prospective authors are invited to submit novel and unpublish work describing innovative techniques, results and prospects addressing one or several of the following topics.

High-level models and languages
De-facto standard programming languages
Synchronous languages, domain-specific languages, data-flow frameworks
From general-purpose languages to formal semantics models
Concurrency models for local synchrony and global asynchrony
Analysis and verification techniques
Program analysis, abstract interpretation, model checking
Intermediate representations: data structures and algorithms
Formal representation of behavioral abstractions: types, relations, automata
(Re)engineering and component-based design
Models for component-based design: architecture models, concurrency models
Program analysis techniques for abstracting and reengineering existing IP
Formal methods for components integration: verification, test, validation
Methodological issues
Suitable design-flows for large systems
Refinement-based design and refinement checking
Object-oriented modeling and contract-based checking
Distribution: fault-tolerance, scheduling
Non-functional requirements: portability, availability, maintanability

The conference will comprise problem-solving sessions, devoted to the presentation of position papers and selected scientific contributions on actual design problems proposed by members of the program committee from major EDA industry companies.

Submissions. Online submission of contributed papers, together with detailled instructions, is available open at the following website. Important dates:

Submission deadlines:
February 1st., 2003 (paper registration)
February 7st., 2003, 18:00 CET (paper upload)
Authors notification: March 15., 2003
Accepted papers due to IEEE: April 11., 2003
Authors registration: April 11., 2003

Publications. Conference proceedings will be published by IEEE Press. Selected papers from the conference will be published in a special issue of the ACM TECS (see call for papers) and in a special volume by Kluwer Academic Publishers on a later date.